20×200

Posted on January 24, 2012 by

2


“I think there are tons and tons of people who don’t buy art, because no one’s tried to sell it to them”, says Jen Bekman, founder of 20×200.

I will tell you more about 20×200 in a minute. How did I get there? Well, since I paint pictures myself, I asked myself the question, how do people promote and sell their art to the public. This is a serious issue artists are facing. Also in these terms, the internet offers a broad audience. How do you use the mass media tool for a world which traditionally kept the public on a distant level?

 

Art is only accessible for privileged. This is simply wrong.

Also Bekman shares that point of view. This website was created to democratize art. It is willing to mobilize art freaks and the ones that are looking for something pretty, fitting the couches color. It is clear by now that everybody walking this planet has a sense for art. It could be painting, music, photography, film or dancing. This list continues. Any expression lead by the soul should be labeled as art. All due respect for objectivity, but I don’t like every piece of art see. Even more, some art creeps the fuck out of me. Still it is art. Let’s continue.

 

20 to 5000

20×200 sells art in a price range from 20 to 5000 bucks. So I’m sitting here, browsing the 20×200 website. It does feel comfortable, browsing a huge database of art. At home, sitting in my favorite chair without my back hurting, while standing. Oh and there is no need to put on that sophisticated and intellectually bursting look on your face. Well well, I see, quite interesting indeed, hmhm. You can still give your screen that look if you like.

 

Interrelation between art and tech

Bekman knew it was time for a Renaissance. A clash of two worlds. Put paint and some dismantled parts of your Mactop in a mixer. Crush it good. When it’s done, pour the mixture on a canvas and what you get is art. Don’t know where that came from. I just had to say that. Expression!  Back to the story. 20×200 actually proved the profitability of selling art only. Two years after the launch in 2007 the New York based startup received $900000 in venture capital and went from $1.6 million to $2.7 million in revenue in 2010. Since that point, internet driven art start-ups have become a New York based trend. Art is not only being sold. Art is also being rented. Artsicle for example rents art for $50 per month to subscribers.

Tech makes it possible to create your own site. Just as simple as we did with our blog websites.

 

“The beginning of this century is really the first time it was possible for people to build websites and sell things without having to hire a whole team” – Jen Bekman

 

In my next post I will tell you what artists think about 20×200, the annual photography competition, Hey, Hot Shot! and the 16-HOUR STEAL. Maybe you will also get an insight and exclusive footage on my current art project, the puke painting.

Tagged: ,
Posted in: start-ups