I am a Toyota – Checked tires and fuel status to drive where again?

Posted on January 22, 2012 by

5


As mentioned in the first post of my series “I am a Toyota” I described the background of the problem I have. It’s the end of semester, I have several exams to sit and some other stuff to do for uni. In short, I have to study more than I can take and it drives me crazy.

So what I am doing is basically the opposite of what my fellow “stirrertrice” (stirrer sound a little awkward) Larissa has done in her fabulous post “Spotted!” I highly recommend. For me observation starts with myself. This does not mean I’m selfish or anything, it’s just not possible to do it differently in the context I have previously described.

According to the Toyota A3 scheme I am referring to I will continue with the Current Conditions and my Goals in this post. If the post is not long enough by then I’ll add some nonsense in between but I hope that won’t be possible ’cause I’m not famous for funny jokes even though I try hard (sometimes).

Current Conditions

Since I am at my parents place to let my parents indulge myself with nice lunch, great coffee and things like that I was able to scan my sketches so you are actually able to read them this time. So let me analyse it for you. As stated in my previous post I have to sit 3 exams, write 3 term papers. I unfortunately forgot mentioning my BusApps class, which takes a lot of time too. Now it’s only two exams left. French was quite alright I guess but the hard part is coming now. To study for exams I have basically decided to exclude having to write term papers until the last one is written. What I will still have to do until then is BusApps which is appearing above my head from time to time like a dark rainy cloud.

So this is here comes my major efficiency decreasing issue: “Every time I start a new topic I keep thinking about the past one I have studied.”

Goals

At the end of the day, of course the result is what counts. Theres a link to startups. In the end the finished business is what counts not how much you suffered from setting it up. In real life you don’t talk about your pain even though it exists as the uncrunched blogger Michael Arrington has described. As Nick O’Neill has stated in his post as well setting up a business in 4 hours is simply bullshit, to speak in his words. With this blog he reacts on several other entries telling how quick someone set up a startup. Concerning this I should consider myself lucky to only have to study a little for exams but this has to be organized somehow too. “You have not experienced stress yet, son” proves to be right one more time..

This was a little view aside from my position. If you want to know more about it you can check out Emily‘s entry, another fellow stirrertrice of mine.

So still my prime goal is the result in the end and if I have to suffer then I have to suffer but before admitting to have to do so a normal student usually tries to get around it. This process was mentioned beautifully by Andreas Dittes who just brought it to the point. You can easily tell, which stage I’m in. I want to reach the goal of good grades by increasing my efficiency. This I want to achieve by arranging my organizational structure and improving my management of large amounts of work. All this I want to do while still having more time for fun stuff. The problem I had in the last couple of weeks was though, I just couldn’t get my head away from uni and concentrate on what I was currently doing. To improve this head clearing I seriously have to do manage my time better somehow.

Ok you made it through the probably most boring post of my series. In my next post I want to research on how to increase efficiency, management of time, workload and strategy and how it’s possible to think of something else than exams during this period. Therefore I want to check out IT means as well as psychological technics (if I can find any reliable ones). I’d really appreciate if you left me a comment telling me what you are using so I have something to start with.

Posted in: start-ups, strategy